westRecent Substack Writings

Changing Your Career to UX / Product Design

By Patrici @ Dream Design Job

March 26, 2021

đź‘‹ Hello. So you are considering joining an UX bootcamp, or wandering into the beautiful abyss that is a career in Product Design!

How did you get into UX design? Did you have much design experience?

It’s a complex answer because, technically, I started working life as a self-taught graphic designer having never studied anything design-related. It took me a long time for me to evolve my career toward UX, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it would for you. Here’s what happened, along with some lessons I learned along the way:

https://cdn.substack.com/image/fetch/w_1456,c_limit,f_auto,q_auto:good,fl_progressive:steep/https%3A%2F%2Fbucketeer-e05bbc84-baa3-437e-9518-adb32be77984.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fpublic%2Fimages%2Ff0dd4230-b4be-49ce-b7cd-1337bafc4113_1050x699.jpeg

UX Life Lesson #1: Don’t be afraid to ask for help, especially if you’re learning on your own

Growing up, design was “my thing” for a long time, along with aspiring to write and make movies. Because I was painfully shy and anxious, I had a lot of time and opportunities in high school and college to learn design tools and minor coding.

Also because I was painfully shy and anxious, I convinced myself I could learn everything on my own (thus saving me the embarrassment of showing anyone my work unless absolutely necessary), and so I had a sad dearth of mentorship during my formative years of messing with palettes and layers. This meant career-blossoming happened much slower for me than it would have if I went to school with a community to help me get better at my craft and inspire me to take risks.

UX Life Lesson #2: Being humble =/= being excessively self-deprecating